In which Emily becomes the family photographer

It’s been a while, blog! My excuse is that my camera was not working for a while, something that I couldn’t get fixed until I went to Cape Town, which happened last month, and now I have some pictures, making the whole blog endeavor worthwhile. So here we are! Thanks for sticking with me, folks. 

For my re-debut, I thought I’d share something that happened to me last week. My loyal counterpart, Mapoloko, and I are in the final stages of a chicken coop-construction project. Last Tuesday morning, we agreed to meet at her house to review a quotation. Just before I left to walk to her house she called and asked me to bring my camera. She didn’t say why, but I had told her that I had gotten it repaired in Cape Town so I figured she just wanted an impromptu photo shoot. Basotho LOVE having their picture taken, especially the kids, so this was not out of the ordinary.

Mapoloko and I finished our business pretty quickly, after which I asked her what she wanted my camera for. “It is the baby’s birthday!” she said. By way of explanation, Mapoloko’s toddler grandson has been living with her while her daughter finishes university. This little boy is very beloved by his family, as you can see in the birthday party pics I took:

DSCF2603

The birthday boy!

DSCF2612

Nkhonno (grandmother) getting the kids in line

DSCF2620

Cutting that cake

DSCF2630

The moms put frosting on all the kids’ faces. They were quite nonplussed

DSCF2632

Contemplating his lollipop

DSCF2633

Mapoloko and her daughter

DSCF2636

The mom and the baby

DSCF2641

Uncle helping his nephew with his shoe

DSCF2643

Mapoloko loves kids!

Leave a Reply

